top of page
Button
  • Writer's pictureShawn Colson

Forgotten Xennial? Check out these great shows from the 80's and 90's!

If you’re a child of the late 80’s and early 90’s like me, you can often feel like you’re being overlooked by the “90’s kids” comebacks of late. Luckily there is a large amount of TV from that era just becoming available for online streaming! Here is just a small sample of the Saturday morning cartoon era shows I’ve been taking on a time warp lately!


The Weird Al Show [Tubi]

(Image Amazon)

Sadly this show only ran for one short (13 episode) season in 1997. It was everything I would have ever wanted in a TV Variety show on Saturday morning. Catchy, funny, and sometimes silly songs, with repeated stupid jokes scattered with bad cartoon clips. I turned this on for my best friend last week, and he was shocked to find he still knew every word of the opening theme song, 23 years later! Streaming for free (with ads) on Tubi.


Cheers [Hulu]

(Image NBC)

While discussing things I remember from my youth, it was discovered that my wife had never seen Cheers! We’re the same age, so I was quite shocked she missed this show during her formative years! Off to Hulu we went for a trip through the 80’s.


Quantum Leap [NBC Streaming]

(Image NBC)

I had only recollections of this running in syndication during strange hours of my early adult life, so I was very happy to get the chance to go back and re-watch a very young Scott Bakula jump through time, and right the timeline. I would like it better if it was on a streaming service other than NBC, as we have technical issues with them sometimes, but you do what you must for great classics like this!


The X-Files [Hulu]

(Image 20th Century Fox)

The Truth is out there…. Or is it? This show was a staple of the weekly routine in my house growing up. If it was on, everyone was quiet, the phone was not in use, and homework had better already be done! While I personally feel it didn’t age as well as some other shows on this list, it is still great to go back and watch the occasional conspiracy fueled episode.


Buffy the Vampire Slayer [Hulu]

(Image 20th Century Fox)

No list of great TV from this era would be complete without this show. The entire run is now available on Hulu and I’m happy to report I’ve already watched through it at least once this year! Stay tuned as I plan to explore the depths of this show more in future articles!


Most Extreme Elimination Challenge (MXC) [Tubi]

[image: Amazon.com]

Even though this show came out in the early 2000’s, it has all of the feel of something that should have been made in the late 80’s! The dialog is comedic overdubs on top of footage from a 1986 Japanese game-show called Takeshi’s Castle. Parents be warned, the vulgarity and innuendo level of this show is not suitable for anyone that hasn’t served in the military, on a police force, or as a sailor.



Tell me your thoughts on these classics of the Xennial era in the comment section below. If you feel I missed an obvious choice, let me know and you may see it reviewed in a future article!


27 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page